War Eagle Extra has moved!

You should be automatically redirected in 4 seconds. If not, visit
and update your bookmarks.

Tuesday, July 20, 2010

Six Tigers make coaches preaseson All-SEC teams

The SEC released the coaches' preseason all-conference teams today and five Tigers made the cut. Left tackle Lee Ziemba and linebacker Josh Bynes made the first team.

Four players made the second team -- wide receiver Darvin Adams, cornerback Neiko Thorpe, linebacker Craig Stevens and center Ryan Pugh.

Of the selections, only Ziemba earned postseason All-SEC recognition, making the coaches' second team after last season.

Here are the full teams:

First team offense
  • QB Ryan Mallett, Arkansas
  • RB Mark Ingram, Alabama
  • RB Derrick Locke, Kentucky
  • WR A.J. Green, Georgia
  • WR Julio Jones, Alabama
  • TE D.J. Williams, Arkansas
  • OL Mike Pouncey, Florida
  • OL Lee Ziemba, Auburn
  • OL Barrett Jones, Alabama
  • OL Carl Johnson, Florida
  • OL Clint Boling, Georgia
First team defense
  • DL Cliff Matthews, South Carolina
  • DL Jerrell Powe, Ole Miss
  • DL Marcell Dareus, Alabama
  • LB Kelvin Sheppard, LSU
  • LB Chris Mavre, Vanderbilt
  • LB Dont'A Hightower, Alabama
  • LB Josh Bynes, Auburn
  • DB Janoris Jenkins, Florida
  • DB Stephen Gilmore, South Carolina
  • DB Mark Barron, Alabama
  • DB Patrick Peterson, LSU
First team specialists
  • UTIL Randall Cobb, Kentucky
  • RET Warren Norman, Vanderbilt
  • P Drew Butler, Georgia
  • PK Blair Walsh, Georgia
Second team offense
  • QB Greg McElroy, Alabama
  • RB Trent Richardson, Alabama
  • RB Jeff Demps, Florida
  • WR Darvin Adams, Auburn
  • WR Alshon Jeffery, South Carolina
  • TE Luke Stocker, Tennessee
  • OL Ryan Pugh, Auburn
  • OL Joseph Barksdale, LSU
  • OL Cordy Glenn, Georgia
  • OL Derek Sherrod, Mississippi State
  • OL DeMarcus Love, Arkansas
  • OL James Carpenter, Alabama
Second team defense
  • DL Ladi Ajiboye, South Carolina
  • DL Chris Walker, Tennessee
  • DL DeQuin Evans, Kentucky
  • DL Drake Nevis,, LSU
  • DL Pernell McPhee, Mississippi State
  • LB A.J. Jones, Florida
  • LB Craig Stevens, Auburn
  • LB K.J. Wright, Mississippi State
  • LB Jerry Franklin, Arkansas
  • DB Neiko Thorpe, Auburn
  • DB Will Hall, Florida
  • DB Chris Culliver, South Carolina
  • DB Ahmad Black, Florida
Second team specialists
  • UTIL Chris Rainey, Florida
  • RET Brandon Boykin, Georgia
  • P: Chas Henry, Florida
  • PK Caleb Sturgis, Florida


Tar Heel Tiger said...

That's a lot of wasted blog space. Pre-season "all this or that" is about as stupid as it gets. AB, after reading all your MIP blog entries, I perceive you to be intelligent enough to agree with me on this point ;-)

Tar Heel Tiger said...

I hate when blogger dissociates my facial expression.

Anonymous said...

Wes Byrum is the premier place kicker in the SEC going into this season. How this was missed I have no idea.

Darvin Adams behind J.Jones is almost as ridiculous as leaving Byrum off, and Pugh should be first team.

That's my totally unbiased opinion!