War Eagle Extra has moved!

You should be automatically redirected in 4 seconds. If not, visit
and update your bookmarks.

Monday, October 19, 2009

Auburn men's hoops picked to finish last in SEC West

Despite finishing last year strong and nearly making the NCAA tournament, Auburn's men's basketball team was picked to finish last in the SEC West by the media, the conference announced Monday.

The Tigers went 24-12 last year but lost three key seniors -- forward Korvotney Barber, forward/guard Rasheem Barrett and guard Quantez Robertson.

Senior guard DeWayne Reed, the team's leading scorer from last year (13.2 ppg), was a second-team preseason All-SEC pick.

Here's the full voting:
Preseason Media Poll (First-Place Votes in Parentheses, *-unanimous selection)

SEC CHAMPION: Kentucky (20); Mississippi State (3); Tennessee (2)

  1. Kentucky (23) 148
  2. Tennessee (2) 117
  3. Vanderbilt 90
  4. South Carolina 77
  5. Florida 68
  6. Georgia 25
  1. Mississippi State (22) 144
  2. Ole Miss (2) 120
  3. Alabama 84
  4. LSU (1) 70
  5. Arkansas 63
  6. Auburn 44
  • Devan Downey, G, South Carolina
  • Patrick Patterson, F, Kentucky*
  • Tyler Smith G/F, Tennessee
  • Jarvis Varnado, F, Mississippi State
  • Terrico White, G, Ole Miss
  • Tasmin Mitchell, F, LSU
  • A.J. Ogilvy, C, Vanderbilt
  • DeWayne Reed, G, Auburn
  • John Wall, G, Kentucky
  • Chris Warren, G, Ole Miss
SEC PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Patrick Patterson, Kentucky

No comments: