War Eagle Extra has moved!

You should be automatically redirected in 4 seconds. If not, visit
and update your bookmarks.

Tuesday, March 9, 2010

Auburn men shut out on all-SEC hoops teams

The All-SEC men's basketball teams were released Tuesday. Kentucky, as you can imagine, was well-represented, with John Wall taking Player of the Year honors and DeMarcus Cousins taking Freshman of the Year honors. (Wait, isn't Wall a freshman? What the ...)

As for Auburn ... Nada. Nothing. Zilch. Yes, no Tiger was deemed worthy of being a top-16 player in the conference. Or in the top-eight on defense. Or in the top-five for freshmen. (For some reason, the SEC's "teams" consist of eight players. Seems like a competitive advantage to me to have all those players on the court at once.)

How often have the Tigers been shut out in the past? Glad you asked, because I looked it up. Korvotney Barber made the second team last year (in hindsight, he really should have been first team). From 2006-08, Auburn didn't have a representative. Before that, Toney Douglas was a third-team selection in 2005.

That last first-team selections? It's been a minute. Doc Robinson and Christ Porter were both first-team picks by the coaches in 1999.

Here's the full list of honorees this season:

Player of the Year: John Wall, Kentucky
Freshman of the Year: Demarcus Cousins, Kentucky
Coach of the Year: Kevin Stallings, Vanderbilt
Defensive Player of the Year: Jarvis Varnado, Mississippi State
Sixth man: John Jenkins, Vanderbilt
Scholar Athlete: Ray Shipman, Florida

First Team
  • Trey Thompkins, Georgia
  • Demarcus Cousins, Kentucky
  • Patrick Patterson, Kentucky
  • John Wall, Kentucky
  • Jarvis Varnado, Mississippi State
  • Devan Downey, South Carolina
  • Wayne Chism, Tennessee
  • Jermaine Beal, Vanderbilt
Second Team
  • Mikhail Torrance, Alabama
  • Courtney Forston, Arkansas
  • Erving Walker, Florida
  • Tasmin Mitchell, LSU
  • Chris Warren, Ole Miss
  • Dee Bost, Mississippi State
  • A.J. Ogilvy, Vanderbilt
  • Jeffery Taylor, Vanderbilt
All-Freshman team
  • Tony Mitchell, Alabama
  • Marshawn Powell, Arkansas
  • Kenny Boynton, Florida
  • Eric Bledsoe, Kentucky
  • DeMarcus Cousins, Kentucky
  • John Wall, Kentucky
  • Reginald Buckner, Ole Miss
  • John Jenkins, Vanderbilt
All-Defense team
  • Patrick Patterson, Kentucky
  • Jarvis Varnado, Mississippi State
  • Devan Downey, South Carolina
  • Sam Muldrow, South Carolina
  • Jeffery Taylor, Vanderbilt

1 comment:

jason heyward said...

They did a pretty good job with the selections. John Wall was very deserving of SEC Player of The Year.