War Eagle Extra has moved!

You should be automatically redirected in 4 seconds. If not, visit
and update your bookmarks.

Wednesday, January 19, 2011

One for the road: Auburn's Cam Newton wins Manning Award as nation's top quarterback

Auburn quarterback Cam Newton got one more parting gift before he embarks on his pro career -- the Manning Award, which is given out after the bowl games to the nation's top quarterback.

Newton previously won the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award and Davey O'Brien Award, in addition to being named Walter Camp and Associated Press National Player of the Year.

Newton ran for 1,473 yards and 20 touchdowns and threw for 2,854 yards and 30 scores this season.

Although he didn't put his usual big numbers in the BCS championship game, he still threw for 265 yards and two touchdowns to go along with 64 rushing yards in Auburn's 22-19 win over Oregon.

“I’m not sure if we’ve ever seen a player put up numbers like Cam Newton did this year,” said former Ole Miss quarterback Archie Manning, one of the award's namesakes. “It’s amazing for a guy to account for over 50 touchdowns in a career, let alone one season, and to also lead his team to the SEC Championship and the BCS championship, it’s no surprise that our voting panel selected Cam as this year’s winner."

Newton is third SEC quarterback to win in the award's seven years, joining LSU's JaMarcus Russell (2006-07) and Florida's Tim Tebow (2008-09).

Newton beat out a field that included Stanford's Andrew Luck, Boise State's Kellen Moore, Ohio State's Terrelle Pryor, Michigan's Denard Robinson, Oregon's Darron Thomas, Oklahoma State's Brandon Wheeden, TCU's Andy Dalton, Nevada's Colin Kapernick and Arkansas' Ryan Mallett.

The award is voted on by a panel of local and national media, as well as Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning.

Follow the blog on Twitter and Facebook.

1 comment:

Tar Heel Tiger said...

First! ...just like Cam and Auburn!!!