War Eagle Extra has moved!

You should be automatically redirected in 4 seconds. If not, visit
and update your bookmarks.

Saturday, February 19, 2011

Auburn men's swimming and diving captures 15th straight SEC title; women place third

The Auburn men's swimming and diving team won its 15th straight SEC championship Saturday at the Stephen C. O'Connell Center in Gainesville, Fla.

The Tigers beat second-place Florida by 17 points, 799-782. The schools have finished 1-2 in the event each of the last 10 years.

“This is the way this meet is supposed to be,” head coach Brett Hawke said. “The SEC is an extremely tough conference and Florida always gives us a run for our money. We have a tough team and winning the SEC title is a part of who we are. We have a tradition of excellence and this is an amazing team. I couldn’t be more proud of their fight and will to hold on in the end.”

Follow the blog on Twitter and Facebook.

The Auburn men have won 17 titles in the last 18 years.

The Tigers' women's team, meanwhile, finished third overall with 563 points, behind Georgia and Florida. It was the 15th year in a row they've finished third or better.

Arianna Vanderpool-Wallace was named SEC Female Swimmer of the Year and also was one of two competitors to earn the women’s SEC Commissioner’s Trophy for high points scorer of the meet.

Senior diver Dan Mazzaferro was named SEC Male Diver of the Year and was one of two to take the men’s SEC Commissioner’s Trophy.

Diving coach Jeff Shaffer was named the SEC Men’s Diving Coach of the Year for the fifth-straight year.

Auburn's Top Finishers
Women: 1650 Free - 8. Gardocki (16:10.56); 200 Back - 6. Bos (1:55.99); 100 Free - 1. Vanderpool-Wallace (46.81); 200 Breast - 2. Lawrence (2:10.23); 200 Fly - 13. Roberts (2:00.83); 400 Free Relay - 1. Riordan, Geary, Bos, Vanderpool-Wallace (3:13.03).

Men: 1650 Free - 4. Grothe (14:57.56) 200 Back -2. Owens (1:40.36); 100 Free - 1. Brown (41.92); 200 Breast - t4. Ferguson & Klein (1:57.32); 200 Fly -8. Looney (1:46.64); 400 Free Relay - 1. Brown, Krug, Modrov, Norys (2:49.95).
Here are Auburn's automatic NCAA qualifiers:

  • Adam Brown - 50 Free (19.05)
  • Adam Brown - 100 Free (41.92)
  • Tony Cox - 100 Back (45.72)
  • Karl Krug - 50 Free (19.27)
  • 200 free relay: Adam Brown, Marcelo Chierighini, Chris Manning, Karl
  • Krug (1:16.56)
  • 400 free relay: Adam Brown, Karl Krug, Drew Modrov, Kohlton Norys
  • (2:49.95)
  • 800 free relay: Kyle Owens, Zane Grothe, Karl Krug, Kohlton Norys
  • (6:21.79)
  • 200 medley relay: Jared White, Adam Klein, Adam Brown, Kohlton Norys
  • (1:25.52)
  • 400 Medley Relay: Kyle Owens, Stuart Ferguson, Tony Cox, Adam Brown (3:06.52)
  • Micah Lawrence - 100 Breast (59.95)
  • Arianna Vanderpool-Wallace - 50 Free (21.34)
  • Arianna Vanderpool-Wallace - 100 Free (46.81)
  • Arianna Vanderpool-Wallace - 100 Fly (51.98)
  • 200 free relay: Hannah Riordan, Arianna Vanderpool-Wallace, Lindsey
  • Norberg, Olivia Scott (1:28.25)
  • 400 free relay: Hannah Riordan, Caitlin Geary, Emily Bos, Arianna
  • Vanderpool-Wallace (3:13.03)
  • 200 medley relay: Emily Bos, Lauren Norberg, Olivia Scott, Arianna
  • Vanderpool-Wallace (1:36.11)


MikeP said...

Thanks for the rundown! It's sometimes hard to get good info on the swimmers. The men's 15 consecutive SEC championships is a remarkable accomplishment. WAR EAGLE!

War Eagle AC-47 said...

Those times are incredible. I don't know how they manage to keep shaving milliseconds off their times like that. When I think of records just a few decades ago, it is truly fantastic.