War Eagle Extra has moved!

You should be automatically redirected in 4 seconds. If not, visit
and update your bookmarks.

Monday, November 8, 2010

Auburn QB Cam Newton, DT Nick Fairley named semifinalists for Maxwell, Bednarik awards

Auburn quarterback Cam Newton and defensive tackle Nick Fairley have been named as semifinalists to two major national awards.

Newton is one of 16 semifinalists for the Maxwell Award, given to the national Player of the Year. Fairley made the cut for the Chuck Bednarik Award, given annually to the national Defensive Player of the Year.

Three finalists for each award will be selected Nov. 22. The winners will be announced as part of ESPN's College Football Awards Show on Dec. 9.

Newton has 1,890 passing yards and 19 touchdowns to go with an SEC-best 1,146 rushing yards and another 15 touchdowns. He is close to joining former Florida quarterback Tim Tebow as the only college player to throw and run for 20 touchdowns in a season.

Fairley has 18 tackles for a loss and 7.5 sacks this season. He leads the SEC in TFLs and is second to Georgia's Justin Houston in sacks.

Here's the full list of Maxwell semifinalists:
WR Justin Blackmon, Oklahoma State, So.
WR Ryan Broyles, Oklahoma, Jr.
QB Andy Dalton, TCU, Sr.
QB Robert Griffin III, Baylor, So.
RB Kendall Hunter, Oklahoma State, Sr.
RB LaMichael James, Oregon, So.
QB Colin Keapernick, Nevada, Sr.
QB Andrew Luck, Stanford, So.
QB Ryan Mallett, Arkansas, Jr.
QB Taylor Martinez, Nebraska, Fr.
QB Kellen Moore, Boise State, Jr.
QB Cam Newton, Auburn, Jr.
QB Terrelle Pryor, Ohio State, Jr.
QB Denard Robinson, Michigan, So.
QB Ricky Stanzi, Iowa, Sr.
QB Tyrod Taylor, Virginia Tech, Sr.
Bednarik semifinalists:
DE Sam Acho, Texas, Sr.
DB Prince Amukamara, Nebraska, Sr.
DE Da'Quan Bowers, Clemson, Jr.
DB Chimdi Chekwa, Ohio State, Jr.
DE Adrian Clayborn, Iowa, Sr.
DT Nick Fairley, Auburn, Jr.
DL/LB Justin Houston , Georgia, Jr.
DL Brandon Jenkins, Florida State, Jr.
LB Greg Jones, Michigan State, Sr.
DL Ryan Kerrigan, Purdue, Sr.
LB Luke Kuechly, Boston College, So.
DT Drake Nevis, LSU, Jr.
DT Stephen Paea, Oregon State, Sr.
CB Patrick Peterson, LSU, Jr.
LB Manti Te'o, Notre Dame, So.
DL J.J. Watt, Wisconsin, Jr.


michael said...

I'll bet there is some writer out there who would love to write a righteously indignant article about how he will refuse to vote for Newton for the Maxwell Award, but he is too ashamed to bring attention to the fact that he has a vote for that award but not the Heisman.

RW said...

Well, I don't think there is any question that Urban is leaking Cam stories out of Florida at this point.