War Eagle Extra has moved!

You should be automatically redirected in 4 seconds. If not, visit
and update your bookmarks.

Monday, November 22, 2010

Newton, Fairley named finalists for major awards

Quarterback Cam Newton and defensive tackle Nick Fairley were named finalists for several major college football awards Monday.

Newton, who has thrown for 2,038 yards, run for 1,297 yards and accounted for 39 touchdowns this season, is one of three finalists for both the Maxwell and Davey O'Brien awards.

The Maxwell is given to the nation's best player. The Davey O'Brien goes to the the top quarterback.

Boise State's Kellen Moore and Stanford's Andrew Luck are Newton's competition for both. Moore has a 188.8 passer rating and 28 touchdowns passes this year. Luck leads the Pac-10 in total offense and has thrown for 2,745 yards to go with 445 rushing yards.

Fairley, whose 18 tackles for a loss lead the SEC, is one of three finalists for the Chuck Bednarik Award, given annually to the top defensive player.

LSU's Patrick Peterson (4 INT) and Clemson's Da'Quan Bowers (15.5 sacks) are also up for the honor.

Fairley is also a finalists for the Lombardi Award and Bronko Nagurski Trophy.

The winners will be announced as part of ESPN's College Football Awards Show on Dec. 9.


postermom said...

What happened to the Outland trophy? Was Fairley at one point on that list?

Andy Bitter said...

Fairley is not a finalist for that. Three offensive linemen are (Colorado's Nate Solder, Wisconsin's Gabe Carimi and Florida State's Rodney Hudson).