War Eagle Extra has moved!

You should be automatically redirected in 4 seconds. If not, visit
and update your bookmarks.

Wednesday, December 8, 2010

Cam Newton named SEC Offensive Player of the Year; Lee Ziemba earns Jacobs Blocking Trophy

Quarterback Cam Newton was the coaches' choice for SEC Offensive Player of the Year, while left tackle Lee Ziemba was the recipient of the Jacobs Trophy as the top blocker, the league announced Wednesday.

It wasn't the clean sweep like Auburn had in the Associated Press awards. Defensive tackle Nick Fairley was beaten out for Defensive Player of the Year honors by LSU's Patrick Peterson.

South Carolina's Steve Spurrier, meanwhile, beat out Auburn's Gene Chizik for Coach of the Year.

Here's the short bios on Newton and Ziemba the SEC release had:
  • Newton has accounted for a nation-best 49 touchdowns this season, setting Auburn single-season records for passing touchdowns (28) and rushing touchdowns (20) while also catching one. He is one of just three players to rush for and pass for 20 touchdowns in a single season. Newton leads the nation in passing efficiency (188.16) and leads the SEC in rushing (108.4) and total offense (307.5). He also became the first player in SEC history to total 2,000 yards passing and 1,000 yards rushing in a single season.
  • Ziemba started all 13 games and has been a key part of Auburn's record-setting offense that leads the SEC in scoring offense (42.7), total offense (497.7), rushing offense (287.2) and first downs (24.3). The Tigers rushed for more than 300 yards against six consecutive SEC opponents for the first time in school history, and have scored at least 50 points a school-record six times this season.
Here are all the awards:
  • Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Greg McElroy, QB, Alabama
  • Offensive Player of the Year: Cam Newton, QB, Auburn
  • Defensive Player of the Year: Patrick Peterson, DB, LSU
  • Special Teams Player of the Year: Patrick Peterson, RS, LSU
  • Freshman of the Year: Marcus Lattimore, RB, South Carolina
  • Jacobs Blocking Trophy: Lee Ziemba, OL, Auburn
  • Coach of the Year: Steve Spurrier, South Carolina


friedrice said...

I feel Fairley is going to get slighted on the awards due to his "dirty" play in the GA game. Just a guess

Justin said...

So now all of a sudden punt returning makes you a better defensive player?

postermom said...

STEVE SPURRIER?!!? Did they feel sorry for him or something?

RW said...

I don't think the coaches were very objective in some of their selections...

Anonymous said...

Peterson and Spurrier? Give me a break...

The jealousy is beginning to show.

MikeP said...

Chizik's team beats Spurriers' twice, so Spurrier gets the award?

What's wrong with this picture?

Anonymous said...

BS BS BS! Spurrier...what a joke. Didn't we beat him twice? The yjust don't want to see Auburn succeed because of Cam and our No1 position

Anonymous said...

Spurrier gets his Gamecocks to the SECCG in a year when the 3 big east powers (UT, UF, & UGA) are down. AU gets there when the west is having their best showing ever. I hope SOS enjoys it, I doubt he'll get back there regardless of how much talent they have coming back next year. Teams like UGA & UF won't be down for long. jmo.