War Eagle Extra has moved!

You should be automatically redirected in 4 seconds. If not, visit
and update your bookmarks.

Tuesday, December 7, 2010

Four Tigers make coaches' All-SEC first team

The coaches released their All-SEC teams Tuesday, and four Auburn players — quarterback Cam Newton, center Ryan Pugh, left tackle Lee Ziemba and defensive tackle Nick Fairley — made the list.

Despite running the table in the SEC and qualifying for the BCS title game, Auburn had only four representatives on the two teams. All four were first-team selections.

Alabama had a league-leading 12 selections on the first and second teams. LSU was second with eight. Arkansas, Georgia and South Carolina had six apiece.

The individual awards will be announced Wednesday.

(*—tie, coaches could not vote for their own players)

TE D.J. Williams, Arkansas
OL Derek Sherrod, Mississippi State
OL Lee Ziemba, Auburn
OL DeMarcus Love, Arkansas
*OL James Carpenter, Alabama
*OL Clint Boling, Georgia
C Ryan Pugh, Auburn
WR Alshon Jeffery, South Carolina
WR Julio Jones, Alabama
QB Cam Newton, Auburn
RB Marcus Lattimore, South Carolina
RB Stevan Ridley, LSU
AP Randall Cobb, Kentucky
DL Drake Nevis, LSU
DL Marcell Dareus, Alabama
DL Nick Fairley, Auburn
DL Pernell McPhee, Mississippi State
LB Danny Trevathan, Kentucky
LB Kelvin Sheppard, LSU
LB Justin Houston, Georgia
DB Patrick Peterson, LSU
DB Mark Barron, Alabama
DB Ahmad Black, Florida
DB Stephon Gilmore, South Carolina
PK Blair Walsh, Georgia
P Chas Henry, Florida
RS Patrick Peterson, LSU
TE Orson Charles, Georgia
OL Larry Warford, Kentucky
OL Barrett Jones, Alabama
OL Garrett Chisolm, South Carolina
OL Joseph Barksdale, LSU
C William Vlachos, Alabama
WR A.J. Green, Georgia
WR Randall Cobb, Kentucky
QB Ryan Mallett, Arkansas
RB Knile Davis, Arkansas
RB Mark Ingram, Alabama
AP Trent Richardson, Alabama
DL Jake Bequette, Arkansas
DL Cliff Matthews, South Carolina
DL Devin Taylor, South Carolina
DL Jerrell Powe, Ole Miss
LB Dont’a Hightower, Alabama
LB Chris White, Mississippi State
*LB Chris Marve, Vanderbilt
*LB Jerry Franklin, Arkansas
DB Robert Lester, Alabama
DB Janoris Jenkins, Florida
DB Casey Hayward, Vanderbilt
*DB Janzen Jackson, Tennessee
*DB Dre Kirkpatrick, Alabama
*DB Morris Claiborne, LSU
PK Josh Jasper, LSU
P Drew Butler, Georgia
RS Trent Richardson, Alabama
DE Nick Bell, Mississippi State


tptoomers said...

Mark Ingram is the worst heisman trophy winner ever. Any finalist this year is better. Also, Greg Childs is pretty good not to make the list at all.

Justin said...

Chris White, Justin Houston, Chris Marve, Jerry Franklin??? All over Bynes?

Hell, Akeem Dent is on the same team, same position, and is miles ahead of Justin Houston in their 3-4.

And has Trent Richardson even returned a punt since September?

This list is redonk. Coaches shouldn't ever vote on anything, ever.

Johnny Smith said...

12 players on the first and second team ALL-SEC, and Alabama finishes fourth in the West? What gives? Either these players are overrated or the coaching staff is.

RW said...

It has been a pretty down year for tailbacks in this league.

Anonymous said...

Mark Ingram being second team is an absolute joke. In his last eight games he has 500 yards rushing. Then again, Dre Kirkpatrick is a joke also. He got burned all season long

MikeP said...

Josh Bynes and Darvin Adams got ripped big-time.
I don't understand this entire list. Mike Dyer had a better year running the ball than Ingram did, and Dyer shared duties with McCalebb, who was better than both Ingram and Richardson.

Except for Cam Newton, most of it looks like a list somebody might have scribbled down back in September when they were guessing who might do what.

Anonymous said...

No Auburn Tigers on the 2nd team? List is a joke.

War Eagle AC-47 said...

If Auburn wins the Championship nobody will give a damn 'bout no list.