War Eagle Extra has moved!

You should be automatically redirected in 4 seconds. If not, visit
and update your bookmarks.

Wednesday, December 15, 2010

Newton named Sporting News Player of the Year; Fairley also makes All-America first team

The Sporting News named Auburn quarterback Cam Newton its player of the year Wednesday, while defensive tackle Nick Fairley also made the first team.

The Tigers were one of four schools with two representatives on the Sporting News’ first team, joining LSU, Oregon and Wisconsin.

Newton and Fairley both made four of the five lists the NCAA uses to determine consensus All-Americans.

Newton was a first-team choice by the American Football Coaches Association, the Walter Camp Football Foundation and the Associated Press. He was left off by the Football Writers Association of America.

The Heisman Trophy winner was previously named Walter Camp Player of the Year.

Fairley was a first-team selection by Walter Camp, the FWAA and the AP, failing to make the AFCA list.

Left tackle Lee Ziemba is Auburn’s other consensus All-American candidate, being selected to the AFCA, Walter Camp and FWAA teams.

It’s the most All-Americans Auburn has had since 2004, when four players — Carlos Rogers, Junior Rosegreen, Carnell Williams and Marcus McNeill — received recognition from at least one outlet.

McNeill was Auburn’s last consensus All-American in 2005.

The Dec. 20 issue of Sporting News magazine will feature Newton on the cover.

Here's the full Sporting News All-America team:
QB Cam Newton, Jr., Auburn
RB LaMichael James, Soph., Oregon
RB Jordan Todman, Jr., Connecticut
WR Justin Blackmon, Soph., Oklahoma State
WR Ryan Broyles, Jr., Oklahoma
TE Lance Kendricks, Sr., Wisconsin
OL Jake Kirkpatrick, Sr., TCU
OL Rodney Hudson, Sr., Florida State
OL Chase Beeler, Sr., Stanford
OL Gabe Carimi, Sr., Wisconsin
OL Nate Solder, Sr., Colorado
K Josh Jasper, Sr., LSU
KR Eric Page, Soph., Toledo
DT Nick Fairley, Jr., Auburn
DE Ryan Kerrigan, Sr., Purdue
DE Da’Quan Bowers, Jr., Clemson
DT Stephen Paea, Sr., Oregon State
LB Luke Kuechly, Soph., Boston College
LB Greg Jones, Sr., Michigan State
LB Vontaze Burfict, Soph., Arizona State
CB Patrick Peterson, Jr., LSU
CB Prince Amukamara, Sr., Nebraska
S Rahim Moore, Jr., UCLA
S Robert Sands, Jr., West Virginia
P Chas Henry, Sr., Florida
PR Cliff Harris, Soph., Oregon
UPDATE: In other award news Wednesday, Auburn running back Mike Dyer was named a second-team Freshman All-American by CollegeFootballnews.com. Dyer was previously named to the SEC All-Freshman team.

No comments: